Wonderful feedback received from a student

Yesterday was my last lecture of this year’s sessions at the Fergusson College here in Pune for the Mobile Computing subject. A Kenyan national from among the class, himself a teacher back in his mother country, wanted to mark the moment by clicking a picture of us. Its just the sort of thing I like as well. Later in the day he sent me a wonderfully worded feedback e-mail, which I have copied below.

“I have received the pictures. At least they will remind me of the only committed teacher I have had in Pune. I really appreciate your pedagogical skills. You are a talented teacher. I can say this authoritatively because I am also a teacher by profession and I understand what it entails for one to be able to deliver information effectively.

Mobile Computing is too wide but you tried to make it manageable.

Again thanks a lot. May God bless the work of your hands.”

It is the best compliment I have received so far about my teaching endeavor, and I was absolutely speechless for minute or so after reading it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I feel that its probably the best feedback a teacher can ever receive, and its importance and lasting impact is far greater than any financial reward. I’ve always tried to be honest in giving the audience the best idea about a topic based on the knowledge and experience I’ve had at that point, in as entertaining a way as possible, and it feels really good when someone recognizes and appreciates the effort. Though there are a LOT of areas where I can still improve,ย I will definitely cherish this feedback for the rest of my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

๏ปฟ
14 thoughts on “Wonderful feedback received from a student

  1. Nice one Nik. Its hard to find that line…and balance! Keep up the good work. I will give you a thumbs up..if you can make me sit through your lectures ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A very good example of understanding the teaching ability of a teacher by a teacher ………i think……
    Nikhil sir , i always liked your teaching style…..and will love to attend those mob sessions again….if you allow…because still some (most of ๐Ÿ˜€ )concepts of mine are not good…. and some i purposely want to revisit… KEEP TEACHING …… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, he being a teacher himself has made this e-mail even more special! Thanks for those words ๐Ÿ™‚ You guys are always welcome, ‘coz I too had a lovely time around you all ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations!!! That is impressive – to make an impact on someone’s life is very special indeed- lucky students ๐Ÿ™‚ Wishing you many wonderful years continuing to do just that. Take Care.

    • Thanks a ton for those lovely wishes ๐Ÿ™‚ I too feel that making an impact on someone’s life, through any means, is probably the best thing you can do, and its a task loaded with responsibility. I’m just glad that I was lucky enough to get a few opportunities to interact with the students, and that I managed to do a fairly good and sincere job ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

