Music conquering enmity: A touching tale

My personal experiences with the enchanting world of music have been that of calming influences, much like spending time with an understanding friend. Instrumental themes have always been my favorite. Rhythm or not, its tough to ignore music, especially when it is embellished with some nice lyrics in terms of songs.

Over the years I’ve heard or read about many anecdotes where music got the better of a harsh feeling or hatred or hurt between two individuals. Being of varying degrees, some tales seemed too good to be true. This little story here which I came across a couple of days ago on YouTube through Guy Kawasaki’s Alltop channel, really takes the cake if you ask me. I tweeted about it then, but I think it also deserves a separate mention on a blog post. You too might agree that its really strong and touching.

Its an anecdote shared by a 90-year-old World War II veteran, whose musical notes on his Trumpet on a soggy, lonesome night in France after D-Day, conquered and “humanized” a deadly adversary in the form of a German army sniper who was trained to kill him without any further thought. Do watch –

P.S. – This man could play the Trumpet so well even at the age of 90, that’s saying something!

4 thoughts on “Music conquering enmity: A touching tale

  1. Dont know how I missed this. Music has really no bounds. Once in a desert, a Bedouin was singing with his Oud (Traditional musical instrument like mandolin). I happened to be there. The notes were not familiar. Their classical singing feels off-key to us, but not on this day. I did not know the language. But still it touched the heart. When he finished I asked him the meaning of the song. He said it was about a request to a beloved surrounded by camels, on a moonlit night in the desert to forgive her lover for not returning in time.
    The picture I had created in my mind was not much different.

    • That was a nice anecdote. Really, music is language-less and when it hits that raw nerve, anything can happen! Its wonderful how you could picture the Bedouin’s thoughts just by listening to musical notes 🙂

Leave a Reply

