‘Always’

Sometimes we hear a particular word or a phrase or certain song lyrics so many times during the day that we sub-concsiously start thinking about it. Its strangely funny when this happens.

Since yesterday morning I’ve must have heard the word ‘always’ a hundred times at least and in almost every perceivable place – during my lectures in college, at home while conversing with my parents, on the phone with friends/colleagues, on TV in movies and advertisements. I think that the word, being an adverb, must be quite frequently used in the English language especially where rhetoric is required. Last evening I thought of all the phrases (and cliches) I’ve heard over the years involving the word. Here’s the collection (in no specific order):

1. “There is always a smarter way.”

2. “Fortune always favors the brave.”

3. “There is always room for improvement.”

4.Always look at the bright side of things.”

5. “The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.”

6. “Truth always sounds tough.”

7. “The customer is always right.”

(There’s also a variation of the same – “The boss is always right.”)

8. “The first step is always the hardest.”

9.Always think before you act.”

10. “The bread always falls buttered side down.”

(This last one is more in accordance with Murphy’s Law!)

Remember some more? Feel free to mention any such phrases (involving the word ‘always’) in the comments.

6 thoughts on “‘Always’

  1. If we remove Allways from the phrases above, the meaning remains unaltered for the most? execpt the emphasis, may be.
    Is AAlways AAlways required?

    • Exactly. That’s maybe because we humans love to use adverbs and superlatives to sound more ‘convincing’, especially during conversations employing some kind of rhetoric. The phrases in the article seem a little bland when the word ‘always’ is not used, don’t they? Its all about putting the point across emphatically 🙂

  2. Something to ‘always’ remember: ‘There is always an exception to every rule’ 🙂

    I enjoyed reading your blog entries and will check in regularly! And thank you so very much for taking the time to leave thoughtful comments in my blog. I very much appreciate that you cared to spend time reading through the blog. Wish you all the best.

    • Thanks for adding that phrase.. I guess its among the more important ones! 🙂 Also, I’m glad you liked my blog posts.

      @my comments on your blog: Once you see quality, it is impossible not to get hooked. I loved some of your paintings and photographs.. and couldn’t resist appreciating them! 🙂 I too will follow your blog and am sure you’ll continue dishing out wonderful pictures/paintings on it. I would like to wish you good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

