Pichle saat dino mein..

Well, the reference to the song from the recent hindi flick ‘Rock On’ is just co-incidental!

In one of his recent blogs, a friend of mine, Ranjeet Elkunchwar, has tried to convey his tribulations with his inner voice. He has always had this great ability to convert his feelings and experiences into words. Being a Scorpio myself I can easily relate to those feelings and the ‘growing up’ curve he talks about.

The events over the last few days have forced me to dig deep mentally too. Handling close relationships and standing by your decisions is like walking a tight rope. You live and die by your decisions – is what I have always maintained, but putting this into actual practice is not easy. As Ranjeet puts it in his blog, I too think this experience will help me truly grow up. I would not like go into the details of the events for obvious reasons. Rather than putting my feelings into words, I would like to share one of my favorite videos, the lyrics of which sort of describe my own trials and tribulations over this period.

It is from Lucky Ali’s album ‘Sifar’ and the song is named “Nahi rakhta dil mein kuch”. The music video is great, but its nothing compared to the amazing lyrics of this song.

(Courtesy YouTube)

The lyrics

“Nahi rakhta dil mein kuch, rakhta hoon zubaan par,

samjhe na apne bhi kabhi.

Keh nahi sakta main kya sahta hoon chhupa kar,

ek aesi aadat hai meri.

Sabhi to hai jinse milta hoon, sahi jo hai inse kehta hoon,

jo samajhta hoon.

Maine dekha nahi rang dil aaya hai sirf adaa par,

ek aesi chahat hai meri.

Baharon ke ghere se laaya main dil sajaa kar,

ek aesi sohbat hai meri.

Saaye mein chhaye rehta hoon, aankhen bichhaye rehta hoon,

jinse milta hoon.


Kitno ko dekha hai humne yahan, kuch seekha hai humne unse naya..


Pehle phursat thi ab hasrat hai samakar,

ek aesi uljhan hai meri.

Khud chalke rukta hoon jahan jis jagah par,

ek aesi sarhad hai meri.

Kehne se bhi main darta hoon, apno ki dhun mein rehta hoon,

kar kya sakta hoon.

De sakta hoon main thoda pyaar yahan par,

jitni haisiyat hai meri.

Reh jaun sabke dil mein dil ko basakar,

ek aesi niyat hai meri.

Ho jaye to bhi razi hoon, kho jaun to main baaki hoon,

yun samajhta hoon.


Raste na badle na badla jahan, phir kyun badalte kadam hai yahan..”

P.S. – If a picture speaks a thousand words, then a video speaks a million!

4 thoughts on “Pichle saat dino mein..

  1. Sifar by Lucky Ali

    Also one of my favourites…both as a song and as poetry…incidentally this is one of the songs I “strum and hum” on the Guitar too !!

    Quite profound. Did you know Sifar means numeric value Zero in Urdu. In the CD cover, for Sifar, they had a beautiful line which read:

    Sifar – Containing nothing, it encircles everything.Without a beginning, without an end, it stretches from emptiness to infinity and back again”.

    Don’t go thinking I have a great memory…I burn too many brain cells owing to a habit of mine 🙂 Just came up on Wikipedia, but I remember having read it. It was probably the last cassette I bought or something 🙂

    Would like to discuss that “incident” in detail when we meet in the real world….does it exist anymore?

    Well…thanks for the mention again, I owe you some hits :). I am not going to put this on my blog now like last time…just to try something new 🙂 I think we are taking far too much inspiration from one another though bro !!Time to look elsewhere…this is going to look like a email conversation soon !! Not that I am bothered 🙂

  2. By the way, here is a geeky retort to your comment about “A video speaking a million words”

    1 image = 1000 words..
    1 million words = 10,000 images
    1 minute video @ 24 fps = 1440 images/min
    10,000/1440 = 6.944 mins

    Ergo for a video to “speak” be a million words, it would have be 6.94 minutes long and be displayed at 24 fps 🙂

    Sifar video = 4.27 mins

    Ergo it would only have 6148.8 images, thus “speaks” 61,480 words 🙂

    LOL…I have lost it mate….

  3. Pingback: A weird theorem « Virtual Panopticon

  4. @Elks

    Well the song is really great and if I remember correctly it was on the top 10 charts for many weeks.

    On a different note, I’ve known you for sometime & would not mind sharing my tribulations with you because I just know you won’t misunderstand them. As you mentioned in your blog, all this is a part of my character building process too. And the real world, though remote, still exists!

    As for the ‘theory’, you may recall that there’s a thing in English language known as Figure of Speech. That is exactly what I was trying to use there mate! I’ll reserve the rest of the criticism for the comments section on your blog.. happy reading!

Leave a Reply

